We were flying at the speed of….errrrrrrrrrrrrr…I forgot…was some thousands of KM…over 33,000 feet above the ground…wow!!! and my altitude doesn’t go beyond 5’3 unless obviously I add 3-4 inches of still-lets.
3…2…1 Touch Down
Despite the fact that I hate flying, cant stand confined spaces…I somehow still manage to take pride in our airlines…PIA has the bestest take off’s’ and landing ‘s’…so I believe…if not the 'bestest' food and flight attendants…
I reached my ‘gawn-ow’ at around 1640 hrs…I saw the numbers on the screen plunging as the ‘craft made its descent…random thoughts were flashing through my head…the ‘what if kinds’.
*final destination and alive types*
I was standing waiting for my one-piece luggage, had I only paid attention to what I was packing my things into I wouldn’t have embarrassed myself by accidently taking someone else’s stuff thinking it was mine…when half way through it hit me that mine wasn’t as heavy…I took it back, nevertheless with the same amount of perseverance, placed it on the rolling-track and acted like nothing had happened though in a very ‘sheepish way’.
I scavenged my way through unfamiliar faces looking for the one I knew, found him. ‘the driver that is’…the one who used to drive us to school everyday (the need to elaborate).
So I hop in the car, the weather seemed fine and all that scary talk about how I’ll melt in the heat melted away amidst all that green and the good-looking people. Now that I was here I couldn’t complain nor did I want to. Instead a day later shit happened at work, so I grumbled over that and not the fact that La-Whore has been practically without power supply since 2007…2fuckinthousandand7…Man!!!
People have a countdown...its like ‘the power’s gonna go around 8…'fill the buckets with water, incase it stays off for more than an hour'…so it happens...comes back around 9…by the time they realize its back on…its already 10…and ‘tripppppppp’…the UPS which has lost the life of its own gives in its last two second before that too turns itself over the MIGHTY ole’ WAPDA.
It wasn’t this bad even back in October 2007...it was until November that same year-when we moved to the city of nothing but the bridges, that this city went crazy.
Things change in Lahore but not the Lahoris’. I haven’t either, nor have my friends-still crazy and laidback mahaul! When I got here I had this feeling of being born again, only this time around I wasn’t crying-not that I remember if I was when I was born-born for real.
My nani constantly panicking after every hour, wanting to know the status of my locale and when I was coming back….arghhhhhhh…reminding me of my fretaholic maa!!! Love them both to bits and pieces and allover again.
Me and mamu having endless debate over corrupt politicians and the inefficient nizaam over Javed Chaudhry’s ‘ajj tak’ or was it ‘kal tak’…never been good with names especially the insignificant ones. Not my idea of vacationing, but we still manage to pull off the most ridiculous and non-coherent conversation ever. Love it!
Oh there we go again, we had power for like what two seconds and the providers must’ve thought hell that’s long enough. They don’t deserve the right to a decent life in any case so why even spoil their habits by following the schedules. Meeting a friend; say what’ like after a gazillion years…my fascination towards the ‘illions’ just grows with every piece I jot-its nauseating.
*weirded out* I was told that I need to get sorted. Didn’t see that coming always thought that I was the most sought after person… :D
I was beginning to lose concentration and the reasons why I needed to get away; so instead I think I’ll shop and meet more friends, until I get back home.
BACK!
Monday, April 12, 2010
puzzle, de-puzzled
Labels:
city,
corrupt,
crazy,
fretaholic,
gazillions,
lahore,
maa,
politicians,
Wapda
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment