I walk in; I’ve only been on the newsfloor for not more than five minutes I am hit by devastation and as I get up to face the consequences I am hit by another. Whammmmm!!!!!!
Good morning y’all!
The Drama begins, the screaming starts, the newsroom comes alive, and we’re back from the grave.
I wake up after 10am despite the fact that I reach the office everyday at 8ish, well that’s when my shift starts-though technically it’s at 7.
Anyways, I push myself to reading all the dailies…I try and concentrate on words like re-promulgate, pak-india spats, the series of suicide bombings. Still not helping, then comes the question that I dread the most every morning at 9; “ajj ka kia plan hai”?...(in my head im like don’t ask me im too dead to even log myself in). I fake a smile and tell ‘em to wait.
Its 9:30am I need my chai…(chai is all I can think about), I go on to the 15th there is no hot water in the rotten kitchen. My blood pressure gains a bit of momentum. I go back furious on to the 16th. Even now, chai is all I can think about. I am on my desk, then I get hit by what do I do with this ticker…puhlease don’t ask me is all I wish for; I force my head to read it twice before deciding its fate. Good, I am through, I still need my chai. I call the kitchen and voila there’s hot water, I rush downstairs, scram through the kitchen, get myself a cup, pour in some water, dip in two teabags, fill it half way up with milk and sugar, take a swig and run back upstairs.
Its making all sense to me now, Mr. Z decides not to re-promulgate the NRO….the Pak-India row will go on forever…there is an enemy at our borders – a bat of an eyelid and we’re history.
Hmmm, I am making sense…I pitch in a few ideas that will get me through the day. I take 10minutes to make a perfect plan-another 10 to delegate. AND IM DONE FOR THE DAY!
“done” doesn’t necessary means I am through with my job, in absolute terms it means I have set the course for the day. Now comes the real work.
No comments:
Post a Comment